Roll Call! Senate Removes Funding of Afterschool with Marijuana Revenue, (16-13), 2020

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Roll-Call-Graphic-300x170.jpg


in the State Senate
on February 14, 2020 by a vote of

Purpose: The underlying bill would create a 15-member “Task Force for Universal Afterschool Access” to investigate funding and implementation of a universal afterschool program in Vermont. They would report back to the Legislature in December 2020. The amendment removes the provision requesting that the Task Force consider funding the afterschool program with revenue from a (potential) marijuana tax.

Analysis: Some of those voting YES (in favor of the amendment) believe any revenue raised from a regulated marijuana market should go toward the state’s General Fund, rather than the afterschool program specifically. Others believe that the assumption of a future taxed marijuana market increases the chances that the Legislature would vote to create a regulated marijuana market, which they are against.

Some of those voting NO (against the amendment) wanted the task force to consider marijuana revenue (from any future legalized market) to fund the afterschool program. Others believe the amendment obscures the link between another government program and raising taxes necessary to pay for it.

As Recorded in the Senate Journal, Friday, February 14, 2020: “Thereupon, pending third reading of the bill, Senators White, Sears and Clarkson moved to amend the bill in Sec. 2, Task Force for Universal Afterschool Access, subsection (c), by striking out subdivision (5) in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following: (5) The Task Force shall explore all funding sources and shall prefer solutions that do not draw upon the State’s Education Fund. Which was agreed to on a roll call, Yeas 16, Nays 13.” (Read the Journal, p. 183 – 184).

How They Voted

Timothy Ashe (D/P-Chittenden) – NO
Becca Balint (D-Windham) – YES
Philip Baruth (D-Chittenden) – NO
Joseph Benning (R-Caledonia) – YES
Christopher Bray (D-Addison) – NO
Randy Brock (R-Franklin) – NO
Brian Campion (D-Bennington) – NO
Alison Clarkson (D-Windsor) – YES
Brian Collamore (R-Rutland) – YES
Ann Cummings (D-Washington) – NO
Ruth Hardy (D-Addison) – YES
Cheryl Hooker (D-Rutland) – NO
Debbie Ingram (D-Chittenden) – NO
M. Jane Kitchel (D-Caledonia) – YES
Virginia Lyons (D-Chittenden) – NO
Mark MacDonald (D-Orange) – NO
Richard Mazza (D-Chittenden-Grand Isle) – YES
Richard McCormack (D-Windsor) – YES
James McNeil (R-Rutland) – NO
Alice Nitka (D-Windsor District) – YES
Corey Parent (R-Franklin) – ABSENT
Chris Pearson (P-Chittenden) – YES
Andrew Perchlik (D-Washington) – NO
Anthony Pollina (P/D-Washington) – YES
John Rodgers (D-Essex-Orleans) – YES
Richard Sears (D-Bennington) – YES
Michael Sirotkin (D-Chittenden) – NO
Robert Starr (D-Essex-Orleans) – YES
Richard Westman (R-Lamoille) – YES
Jeanette White (D-Windham) – YES

Not yet signed up? Join the EAI email list today

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Enter Comment Here: