Roll Call! House Ducks Responsibility to Vote on Controversial CO2 Plan, (44-99), 2020

in the State House of Representatives
on February 20, 2020, by a vote of

.Purpose: The Donahue Amendment to the Global Warming Solutions Act would ensure legislative review and approval of any plans/rules proposed by the newly formed Climate Council and the Agency of Natural Resources before such plans/rules could be put into effect.
Analysis: The underlying bill, the Global Warming Solutions Act, would give broad power to an unelected body (The 22 member Climate Council) and the Agency of Natural Resources to create plans and implement rules governing the citizens of Vermont necessary to meet strict, mandatory greenhouse gas emissions reduction goals. As of now, nobody knows what the plan or those rules might be or how much they might cost.
The Donahue Amendment would ensure that the Legislature has the opportunity to debate and vote on the Vermont Climate Action Plan that will be drafted by the Climate Council before it could be brought to the Agency of Natural Resources for implementation.
Those voting YES believe that in a democracy it is the Legislature’s responsibility to serve as the final judge for any Plan that will so materially affect the people of Vermont. Without this amendment, the people of Vermont, through their elected representatives, will be unjustly cut out of process.
Those voting NO believe that requiring the Legislature vote on complicated and potentially unpopular rules and recommendations will slow down action on climate change.

As Recorded in the House Journal, Thursday, February 20, 2020: “…shall the report of the committee on Energy and Technology, as amended, be amended as offered by Rep. Donahue of Northfield? Rep. Savage of Swanton demanded the Yeas and Nays, which demand was sustained by the Constitutional number. The Clerk proceeded to call the roll and the question, Shall the report of the committee on Energy and Technology, as amended, be amended as offered by Rep. Donahue of Northfield? was decided in the negative. Yeas, 44. Nays, 99… (Read the Journal, p. 317 – p. 338)

How They Voted

(Click on your Rep’s name to send an email)
Janet Ancel (D – Calais) – NO


Peter Anthony (D – Barre) – NO
Sarita Austin (D – Colchester) –NO
Robert Bancroft (R – Westford) – YES
John Bartholomew (D – Hartland) – NO
Lynn Batchelor (R – Derby) –YES
Christopher Bates (D – Bennington) –NO
Scott Beck (R – St. Johnsbury) –YES
Matthew Birong (D – Vergennes) –NO
Thomas Bock (D – Chester) –NO
Patrick Brennan (R – Colchester) –YES
Timothy Briglin (D – Thetford) –NO
Nelson Brownell (D – Pownal) –NO
Cynthia Browning (D – Arlington) –YES
Jessica Brumsted (D – Shelburne) –NO
Thomas Burditt (R – West Rutland) –YES
Mollie Burke (P – Brattleboro) –NO
Scott Campbell (D – St. Johnsbury) –NO
William Canfield (R – Fair Haven) –YES
James Carroll (D – Bennington) –NO
Seth Chase (D – Colchester) –NO
Robin Chesnut-Tangerman (P – Middletown Springs) –NO
Annmarie Christensen (D – Weathersfield) –NO
Kevin “Coach” Christie (D – Hartford) –NO
Brian Cina (P – Burlington) –NO
Sara Coffey (D – Guilford) –NO
Selene Colburn (P – Burlington) –NO
Hal Colston (D – Winooski) –NO
Peter Conlon (D – Cornwall) –NO
Charles Conquest (D – Newbury) –NO
Sarah Copeland-Hanzas (D – Bradford) –NO
Timothy Corcoran (D – Bennington) –YES
Mari Cordes (D/P – Lincoln) –NO
Lawrence Cupoli (R – Rutland) –YES
Carl Demrow (D – Corinth) –NO
Eileen Dickinson (R – St. Albans) –YES
Kari Dolan (D – Waitsfield) –NO
Anne Donahue (R – Northfield) –YES
Johannah Dovan (D – Burlington) –NO
David Durfee (D – Shaftsbury) –NO
Caleb Elder (D – Starksboro) –NO
Alice Emmons (D – Springfield) –NO
Peter Fagan (R – Rutland) –YES
Charen Fegard (D – Berkshire) –YES
Martha Feltus (R – Lyndon) –YES
Marianna Gamache (R – Swanton) –YES
John Gannon (D – Wilmington) –NO
Marcia Gardner (D – Richmond) –NO
Dylan Giambatista (D – Essex) –NO
Diana Gonzalez (P – Winooski) –NO
Kenneth Goslant (R – Northfield) –YES
Maxine Grad (D – Moretown) –NO
Rodney Graham (R – Williamstown) –YES
James Gregoire (R – Fairfield) –YES
Sandy Haas (P – Rochester) –NO
Lisa Hango (R – Birkshire) –YES
James Harrison (R – Chittenden) –YES
Nader Hashim (D – Dummerston) –NO
Robert Helm (R – Fair Haven) –YES
Mark Higley (R – Lowell) –YES
Matthew Hill (D – Wolcott) –NO
Robert Hooper (D – Burlington) –NO
Philip Hooper (D – Randolph) –NO
Mary Hooper (D – Montpelier) –NO
Lori Houghton (D – Essex) –NO
Mary Howard (D – Rutland) –V
Kathleen James (D – Manchester) –NO
Stephanie Jerome (D – Brandon) –NO
Kimberly Jessup (D – Middlesex) –NO
Mitzi Johnson (D – Grand Isle) – PRESIDING
John Killacky (D – S. Burlington) –NO
Charles Kimbell (D – Woodstock) –NO
Warren Kitzmiller (D – Montpelier) –NO
Emilie Kornheiser (D – Brattleboro) –NO

Jill Krowinski (D – Burlington) –NO  


Robert LaClair (R – Barre) –YES
Martin LaLonde (D – S. Burlington) –NO
Diane Lanpher (D – Vergennes) –NO
Paul Lefebvre (R – Newark) –YES
Felisha Leffler (R – Esburgh) –YES
William Lippert (D – Hinesburg) –NO
Emily Long (D – Newfane) –NO
Terence Macaig (D – Williston) –NO
Michael Marcotte (R – Coventry) –YES
Marcia Martel (R – Waterford) –ABSENT
James Masland (D – Thetford) –NO
Christopher Mattos (R – Milton) –YES
Michael McCarthy (D – St. Albans) –NO
Curtis McCormack (D – Burlington) –NO
Patricia McCoy (R – Poultney) –YES
James McCullough (D – Williston) –NO
Francis McFaun (R – Barre) –YES
Leland Morgan (R – Milton) –ABSENT
Kristi Morris (D – Springfield) –NO
Mary Morrissey (R – Bennington) –YES
Michael Mrowicki (D – Putney) –NO
Barbara Murphy (I – Fairfax) –NO
Linda Myers (R – Essex) –YES
Logan Nicoll (D – Ludlow) –NO
Terry Norris (I – Shoreham) –NO
William Notte (D – Rutland) –NO
Daniel Noyes (D – Wolcott) –NO
John O’Brien (D – Tunbridge) –NO
Jean O’Sullivan (D – Burlington) –NO
Carol Ode (D – Burlington) –NO
“Woody” Page (R – Newport) –YES
Kelly Pajala (I – Londonderry) –NO
John Palasik (R – Milton) –YES
Carolyn Partridge (D – Windham) –NO
Avram Patt (D – Worcester) –NO
David Potter (D – Clarendon) –NO
Ann Pugh (D – S. Burlington) –NO
Constance Quimby (R – Concord) –YES
Barbara Rachelson (D – Burlington) –NO
Zachariah Ralph (P – Hartland) –NO
Marybeth Redmond (D – Essex) –NO
Peter Reed (I – Braintree) –NO
Lucy Rogers (D – Waterville) –NO
Carl Rosenquist (R – Georgia) –YES
Brian Savage (R – Swanton) –YES
Robin Scheu (D – Middlebury) –NO
Heidi Scheuermann (R – Stowe) –YES
Patrick Seymour (R – Sutton) –YES
Charles “Butch” Shaw (R – Pittsford) –YES
Amy Sheldon (D – Middlebury) –NO
Laura Sibilia (I – Dover) –NO
Brian Smith (R – Derby) –YES
Harvey Smith (R – New Haven) –ABSENT
Trevor Squirrell (D – Underhill) –NO
Thomas Stevens (D – Waterbury) –NO
Vicki Strong (R – Albany) –YES
Linda Joy Sullivan (D – Burlington) –NO
Mary Sullivan (D – Dorset) –YES
Randall Szott (D – Barnard) –NO
Curt Taylor (D – Colchester) –NO
Thomas Terenzini (R – Rutland) –YES
George Till (D – Jericho) –NO
Tristan Toleno (D – Brattleboro) –NO
Catherine Toll (D – Danville) –NO
Casey Toof (R – St. Albans) –ABSENT
Maida Townsend (D – South) –NO
Matthew Trieber (D – Rockingham) – RESIGNED
Joseph “Chip” Troiano (D – Stannard) –NO
Tommy Walz (D – Barre) –NO
Kathryn Webb (D – Shelburne) –NO
Rebecca White (D – Hartford) –NO
Theresa Wood (D – Waterbury) –NO
David Yacovone (D – Morristown) –NO
Michael Yantachka (D – Charlotte) –NO
Samuel Young (D – Greensboro) –NO


Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Enter Comment Here: